WESHARE BECOMES MILES

MILES Mobility has acquired the all-electric car sharing provider WeShare as of November 1st 2022. WeShare was active in Berlin and Hamburg with around 2,000 e-vehicles and operated as a service of Urban Mobility International GmbH, until today a subsidiary of Volkswagen AG.

WeShare wird zu MILES

The migration process

The WeShare service will continue as usual for the time being. However, in the coming weeks, WeShare vehicles and customers will be migrated to the MILES ecosystem as part of the acquistion - the service will continue to run under the name MILES in the MILES app. 

MILES customers will benefit from a larger e-fleet. The original WeShare customers will gain access to a significantly larger and more diverse fleet, an additional six German cities as well as two Belgian cities, and new features such as city-to-city rides and trips abroad. More than 11,000 vehicles in Germany and Belgium will be available via the MILES app.

WeShare wird zu MILES

Motives for the acquisition

We are committed to continuously expanding both our vehicle fleet and our customer base in an economically sustainable way. In addition, the electrification of our fleet is a cornerstone of the MILES strategy towards sustainable urban transport. 

We are happy to expand our long-standing collaboration with the Volkswagen Group, through the mobility partnership. With the acquisition of WeShare, we are taking a further, significant step towards a reliable, convenient and sustainable form of mobility as an alternative to the private car. In order to consistently continue on this path, we want to become the leading car-sharing platform in Europe.

MILES - CFO, CEO & CCO

Where do we go from here?

In the upcoming weeks, we will take the time to prepare the migration while ensuring that both WeShare and MILES customer:s can continue to enjoy an excellent mobility service.

Further, we have prepared a process that will guide employees through all phases of the merger as transparently and openly as possible. We will hold team workshops and individual one-on-one meetings to get to know each other, better understand the work processes, clarify open questions and discuss the next steps. 

We are available to answer any questions you may have. Furthermore, we have also prepared a FAQ.  

Alexander Eitner
Eyvindur Kristjansson
Oliver Mackprang


Press contact 

Nora Goette, Lead Public Relations
presse@miles-mobility.com

WESHARE WIRD ZU MILES

MILES Mobility hat zum 01.11.2022 den vollelektrischen Carsharing-Anbieter WeShare übernommen. WeShare war zuletzt mit rund 2.000 Fahrzeugen in Berlin und Hamburg aktiv und ein Service der Urban Mobility International GmbH, bis dato eine Gesellschaft der Volkswagen AG.

WeShare wird zu MILES

Der Migrationsprozess

Der WeShare Service läuft wie gewohnt vorerst weiter. In den kommenden Wochen werden die WeShare Fahrzeuge und Kund:innen im Rahmen der Übernahme in das MILES Ökosystem migriert - der Service läuft unter dem Namen MILES in der MILES App weiter. 

Die MILES-Kund:innen werden von einer größeren E-Flotte profitieren. Die ursprünglichen WeShare-Kund:innen erhalten Zugang auf eine deutlich größere und vielfältigere Fahrzeugflotte, auf weitere sechs deutsche Städte sowie auf zwei belgische Städte und auf neue Funktionen wie Stadt-zu-Stadt-Fahrten und Fahrten ins Ausland. Mehr als 11.000 Fahrzeuge in Deutschland und Belgien stehen künftig zur Verfügung.

WeShare wird zu MILES

Beweggründe für die Übernahme

Wir sind bestrebt, sowohl unsere Fahrzeugflotte als auch unseren Kundenstamm auf wirtschaftlich nachhaltige Weise kontinuierlich zu erweitern. Darüber hinaus ist die Elektrifizierung der Flotte ein Eckpfeiler der MILES Strategie für einen nachhaltigen urbanen Verkehr. 

Wir freuen uns, die seit vielen Jahren bestehende Zusammenarbeit mit dem Volkswagen Konzern, durch die Mobilitätspartnerschaft zu erweitern. Mit der Übernahme von WeShare gehen wir einen weiteren, bedeutsamen Schritt hin zu einer verlässlichen, komfortablen und nachhaltigen Mobilitätsform als Alternative zum eigenen Pkw. Um diesen Weg konsequent fortzuführen, wollen wir zur führenden Carsharing-Plattform Europas werden.

MILES - CFO, CEO & CCO

Wie geht es weiter?

In den kommenden Wochen werden wir uns die Zeit nehmen, um die Migration vorzubereiten und gleichzeitig sicherzustellen, dass sowohl die WeShare als auch die MILES Kund:innen weiterhin einen exzellenten Mobilitätsservice nutzen können.

Ferner haben wir einen Prozess vorbereitet, der die Mitarbeitenden so transparent und offen wie möglich durch alle Phasen der Fusion führen wird. Wir werden Team-Workshops und individuelle Einzelgespräche durchführen, um uns gegenseitig kennenzulernen, die Arbeitsabläufe besser zu verstehen, offene Fragen zu klären und die nächsten Schritte zu besprechen. 

Wir stehen für Rückfragen zur Verfügung. Zudem haben wir ein FAQ vorbereitet.  

Alexander Eitner
Eyvindur Kristjansson
Oliver Mackprang


Pressekontakt 

Nora Goette, Lead Public Relations
presse@miles-mobility.com